Slumdog Millionaire

Movie Review:
So I finally saw Slumdog Millionaire this week.   Everyone was telling me I should go see it.  I had heard mixed reviews: it’s a nice romantic story… it’s too graphic…but it has a redeeming ending… I didn’t really know what to expect.

From my perspective, it was about as accurate and authentic it could be without getting TOO graphic. Don’t get me wrong, there’s definitely disturbing scenes that are upsetting, but compared to what truly takes place in this world, it was mild.  Much was alluded to without being illustrated in detail.

There was so much I could relate to: life as I’ve experienced: life as Stephanie is living…today.

The children approaching the rickshaws, tapping you with their hands cupped, begging barefoot.  The beautiful faces of the people, the slums, the blue tarps on the roofs, the narrow alleys, the traffic and the horns…They even referenced our train stop in Mumbai, and of course featured VT station which is basically union station in downtown Bombay. Loved the last scene of the credits with the full choreographed dance. You can’t have an Indian movie without it! I’ve just never seen a train station in India empty before! especially not VT.

anyways…great film. see it. it opens your eyes to what is taking place in the world.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Slumdog Millionaire

  1. Anorak

    Hey! Glad to know that you liked the film. Do drop by to read my take on the movie at: http://anorak75.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/slumdog-millionaire-the-secret-is-out/

Leave a Reply

