Indonesian sex slave breaks silence By Arwa Damon

As published by CNN World

Jakarta, Indonesia (CNN) — “People see me as a strong woman,” Sunarsih says, “but I was broken inside. I was always crying but I don’t want other people to see my cry.”

Sunarsih is not this woman’s real name. She doesn’t want her identity revealed. No one, not even her family, knows what happened to her.

Her story starts 15 years ago, when she was just 17 years old.

“My family was very poor, I had to drop out of school,” she explains. “Then I met many successful migrant workers and their stories enticed me.”

Sunarsih’s situation is not uncommon. Across impoverished villages in Indonesia, becoming a migrant worker is a woman’s only chance for a better life.

But for some, the pursuit of their dreams quickly becomes a nightmare.

Sunarsih went to what she thought was a legitimate company. She received training in the basics of housekeeping, a passport for the first time.

To read the rest of the article, click here.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

